Dallas Principal Steven Wolens has been re-elected Chairman of the Texas Ethics Commission (TEC). Steven was originally nominated last year by Speaker of the House Joe Straus.

Founded in 1991, the TEC is responsible for administering and enforcing sections of the election code and other statutory provisions generally governing politics and ethics in the state. The Commission is composed of eight commissioners, four Republicans and four Democrats, all appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor and Speaker of the House.

Prior to joining McKool Smith as a civil litigator, Steven served as a member of the Texas House of Representatives, authoring landmark legislation covering partnerships and limited liability corporations, ethics reforms, antitrust laws and electric deregulation.  


Practice Areas

Jump to Page