Main Menu

21 McKool Smith Principals have been selected for inclusion in the 2022 edition of "Best Lawyers in America" and 11 attorneys chosen for "Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch."

In addition, Lew LeClair, J. Michael Hennigan, and Willie Wood have been recognized as 2022 "Lawyers of the Year" in their respective regions/practices areas. Based on peer reviews, only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”

Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation process. Almost 87,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and over 10 million evaluations are received on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific areas of practice. To learn more about Best Lawyers, please visit

McKool Smith's 2022 honorees include:



  • Douglas Cawley (Litigation: Commercial, IP, and Patent)
  • Gary Cruciani (Litigation: Commercial, M&A, and Securities)
  • Lew LeClair (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/ Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Bet-the Company Litigation, Litigation:Commercial, Bankruptcy, Insurance Law, Banking and Finance, IP, Patent, and Securities); 2022 Lawyer of the Year for Banking and Finance
  • Robert Manley (Litigation: Commercial, IP, Patent and Insurance Law)
  • Mike McKool (Litigation: Bet-the-Company, Commercial, Banking & Finance, IP, M&A, Patent, and Securities);
  • Ashley Moore (Litigation: Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law, IP, and Patent)
  • David Sochia (Litigation: IP and Patent)
  • Avery Williams (Litigation: Commercial Litigation) 
  • Travis DeArman (Ones to Watch: Commercial Litigation) *Debut Ranking
  • Richard Kamprath (Ones to Watch: Commercial Litigation)
  • Warren Lipschitz (Ones to Watch: Commercial Litigation, IP)
  • Nick Mathews (Ones to Watch: Commercial Litigation, Antitrust, Patent) *Debut Ranking


  • J. Wiley George (Litigation: Commercial, and Construction Law)
  • Bill LaFuze (Litigation: IP, Patent, Trade Secret Law)
  • Hugh M. Ray (Litigation: Bankruptcy; and Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/ Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
  • John Sparacino (Litigation: Bankruptcy) *Debut Ranking
  • Willie Wood (Litigation: Commercial, Mass Tort/ Class Actions-Defendants, Oil and Gas Law); 2022 Lawyer of the Year for Oil and Gas Law
  • Blake Bailey (Ones to Watch: IP)
  • Kristen Leveille (Ones to Watch: Commercial) *Debut Ranking
  • Veronica Manning (Ones to Watch: Commercial and Bankruptcy)
  • Lauren Varnado (Ones to Watch: Commercial, Insurance Law, and Oil & Gas Law)

Los Angeles:

  • Kirk Dillman (Litigation: Commercial)
  • Mike Hennigan (Litigation: Bet-the-Company, Commercial, Real Estate, and Securities); 2022 Lawyer of the Year for Real Estate
  • Michael Miguel (Litigation: Insurance; Insurance Law)


  • Sam Baxter (Litigation: Bet-the-Company, Commercial, IP, Patent, M&A, and Securities)
  • Jennifer Truelove (Litigation: Commercial, Intellectual Property, Patent)

New York:

  • Hugh Ray (Litigation: Bankruptcy; and Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/ Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
  • Kevin Schubert (Ones to Watch: Commercial and Patent)
Back to Page